top of page
  • Writer's picturepokady

Thoughts on CSP + Procreate Updates

Updated: Dec 25, 2020

I use primarily these two drawing programs (CSP on my computer, Procreate on my iPad) and they BOTH had updates. It's been an exciting month (happy holidays truly). Decided to test out the new features by drawing my OC Nike.


CSP was mostly a UI update and it's looking super sleek, but the update that astounded me the most was the addition of realistic watercolors/gouache. Except, those brushes were

implemented early 2019. I'm just... really bad at updating CSP... On a fun note, I love the brushes!!!! Though I did have a CSP Materials brush that is VERY similar to the realistic watercolors, but the gouache is just stunning. They remind me of my painting brushes in PaintTool Sai... makes me super nostalgic and happy.




 

Procreate 5 update happened a few days ago and ahhhh the brush customization is superb! I will admit I'm still taking a while to get used to brush customization, but Procreate also implemented "realistic" brushes aka more blendable brushes, which I am a sucker for. Before I would just use the smudge tool to replicate my blending in CSP (it works!), but I just really like my brushes to blend in general, so definitely happy with this update.




It's looking more like how I render on CSP!!! Pretty ecstatic about that since rendering is my favorite thing to do. Might also try out their animation. It's very close to Photoshop's animation feature, and my animating isn't the absolute best, but experimenting is always great.


They also implemented a pop out color wheel!!! Super duper cool when you think about it, definitely great for big iPads (I have a smaller one so it's not super great, but having primary + secondary colors is always a plus).


Hmmm, that's all I have to say. I'm gonna try to make this blog more active, do weekly updates!



14 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page